Welcome to the Emarsys Account Owner Guide

If you are reading this, you have most likely been selected to be the Account Owner for your Emarsys B2C Marketing Cloud account. Below you can find all the information you need relating to your role and responsibilities.

Important note for Account Owners: Since the new user management module must be rolled out gradually to all existing Emarsys accounts, there are some minor differences in the workflow for these users as opposed to new customers. These differences are clearly labelled in the documentation below, and will be removed once the rollout is complete.

What is an Account Owner?

Every Emarsys account has at least one Account Owner. This role is responsible for creating and managing the other user profiles and for configuring the security settings for the account. These are available via two pages in the Admin menu that regular users cannot see:

Note: In addition to this role you are also a regular Emarsys user. You can manage your own profile as normal in the My Profile page.

Regular users can only be promoted to the Account Owner role by Emarsys Support.

Why do we need Account Owners?

The security of your data is of paramount importance to us, and we take all possible precautions to ensure that our application and infrastructure are safe (for an overview of these measures, please see: Data Security in Emarsys Products).

At the same time, we want to give you as much control as possible over the access and permission levels of your own users. The Account Owner can decide exactly who has which level of access to the account, and from which IP addresses.

Now that I am an Account Owner, what do I do?

You have three tasks to do when you are selected to be the Account Owner for your Emarsys account:

  1. Validate and enable your own Account Owner profile.
  2. Configure the account security settings.
  3. Invite and enable the rest of the users in your account.

The steps required are described in detail below.

Activating your Account Owner role

Your first point of contact with Emarsys will be an email asking you to activate your account. Click the activation link to open the Account Owner activation page.

account-owner-activation-1

All fields on this page are mandatory, but some have been pre-filled for you. For added security, the Account Owner’s Access role and Email address fields can only be changed by Emarsys Support.

On this page you must:

  • Select the user name you will use to log in.
  • Select your login password.
  • Verify your mobile phone number.

Note: As Account Owner, you must verify your mobile phone number to ensure that you will always be able to log in to this account, for example in case you enable IP whitelisting.

When you have activated your profile you will receive a confirmation email and will be redirected to the login screen for your account. After logging in you will see two new entries in the Admin menu:

account-owner-menu

Your first action should be to configure your security settings.

Configuring the account security settings

On the Security Settings page there are the following sections:

  • Permitted email domains
    All the users in your account must have valid email addresses that belong to a domain listed here, as the application will only send invitation emails to addresses in these domains.

  • IP access control
    This is an optional, but highly recommended, security feature that requires two-step authentication for all login attempts from unrecognized IP addresses.

  • API user creation
    Keep your API secure by regularly changing your user name and secret key.

  • WebDAV user creation
    If you are using WebDAV storage for data transfer, you should also keep this secure by regularly changing your user name and secret key.

  • Key-based SFTP Auto-imports
    Set up auto-import events from your SFTP server using 4096-bit RSA keys.

Note: Before you can make any changes to these settings you will be prompted to enter your password as a further security measure. Once accepted, your session is authorized to update the security settings for five minutes. When this time has elapsed you will be asked to enter your password again.

Once you have saved your settings, you can now begin to create other users.

For existing accounts only: Verifying your existing users

On the User Management page you can see a list of all the user profiles in your account. You should perform one of the three following actions immediately on all of them.

  • Verify users account-owner-verify-user
    If you know that this user is still active, click this icon to open the verification wizard where you can send them an automated email with a verification link. This will ensure that their email address is correct and also give them a chance to validate their mobile phone number if they so wish.
    Once you have initiated the verification process, they will not be able to log in until they have clicked the link in their email and saved their profile with a new password. The link is valid for 24 hours only; you can trigger validation emails as many times as you like.

  • Deactivate users account-owner-disable-user
    If you do not want this user to log in, but do not yet want to delete them, you can deactivate their profile. This will not affect any of their assets in your account (e.g. active or scheduled campaigns); it simply prevents them from logging in.
    You can reactivate them at any time. The process is the same as for the verification process described above.

  • Delete users delete-icon
    If you are absolutely sure that this user will never log in again (e.g. if they no longer work at your company), then you should delete their profile.
    You will be asked to select another user to inherit all their assets and permissions.

If you do not verify the other users in your account, they will be able to log in with their existing credentials for now, but eventually all users will be forced to verify their profiles. This process takes only a few minutes and is an essential step in ensuring the integrity of your account user security.

Additionally, if a user does not log in for 180 days to Emarsys their profile is automatically deactivated.

Creating new users

You can create new users on the User Management page. Click Create New User to initiate the user creation wizard.

Click here for more details on user creation.

Managing user profiles

As Account Owner, you can also edit user profiles on the User Management page, as well as deactivate and reactivate them.

Click here for more details on user profile management.